A Horse is a Horse, Of course, Of Course

Today is Sunday. It’s been pouring rain all day and night. I went to church and then went to see Jamie at work for lunch. The hospital has the best Sunday lunches. After that I got a pedicure. As I drove home I passed a field about a mile or so from the house. The field is fenced in and has a small barn. It used to be the home of a beautiful, nearly black horse named RC. We used to stop and visit RC a lot. He liked to be petted. One time another man was there. He told us his wife baked chocolate chip cookies for RC all the time. We fed him a few times but only healthy stuff like apples. One day RC was no longer there and a sign was posted on the fence that said he had died. It was surrounded by bouquets of flowers. I’m pretty sure horses shouldn’t be eating chocolate but that’s just an assumption. Not that that had anything to do with his untimely demise. They buried RC at the top of the hill in the field and planted a tree on him that’s pretty big now.  It’s the only shade tree in the field.

Since RC, there hasn’t been anything in the field for several years. Until recently. We’ve noticed there are two donkeys, a horse, and a miniature pony now. We stopped yesterday to see them but they must have been in the barn and didn’t come out. I had gone to the grocery store and bought a bag of apples for them. On the other side of the field was another fenced in area full of goats and pigs. They were cute but I couldn’t get close enough to pet them.

Today as I drove home from my pedicure I noticed the donkeys and horses were out. The rain had subsided for a bit so I talked Jamie into going back with me to see them. I was already in my pajamas (at 2:00 PM) but what the heck. I didn’t figure I needed to dress up for a horse so I slipped on some sandals and away we went. There’s a sign on the gate that asks people to only feed them apples, carrots, celery, etc. It didn’t list chocolate chip cookies so it’s a good thing I didn’t bake any. It was pretty muddy by the fence and there I stood with my new pedicure and sandals in mud, slipping and sliding.

The horse was very appreciative. She liked the apples so much she would shoo away the donkeys so they couldn’t have any, but we made sure they got their fair share. Actually I’m not really sure if she liked the apples or if she just likes to eat because then she tried to eat my shirt too. Jamie was afraid to hold the apple while they took bites so as soon as they got a hold of it he’d drop the apple. Sheesh. Do I have to do everything? The animals got their fill of apples and petting. I got a ruined pedicure and sandals.

On the way home we were wondering what we were going to have for dinner. I said, “I don’t know but I know where I can get a good ham.”

 

Leave a Reply

