I Would’ve Missed Out

If I hadn’t heard the ping on the window of the sleet coming down, I surely would’ve missed out.

If I hadn’t seen the sprout pushing up from the bottom of my newly gifted aloe, I surely would’ve missed out.

If I hadn’t spotted the white of my baby boy’s bottom gum, I surely would’ve missed out.

If I hadn’t felt the tingling of the starfish as it rested gently on my palm, I surely would’ve missed out.

If I hadn’t gone in the tire store and smelled the fresh new rubber, I surely would’ve missed out.

If I hadn’t learned what wild, northern blueberries taste like, I surely would’ve missed out.

If I hadn’t seen the turquoise clear water of the Bermuda seas, I surely would’ve missed out.

If I hadn’t ridden my bike to Pena Adobe in the heat of the summer sun, I surely would’ve missed out.

If I hadn’t climbed to the top of Craggie Mountain and taken in the view, I surely would’ve missed out.

If I hadn’t ridden with Poncho through Oklahoma City in rush hour, I surely would’ve missed out.

If the thunder hadn’t awakened me in the middle of the night, I surely would’ve missed out.

If I hadn’t been to Pretty Place and gazed upon God’s land, I surely would’ve missed out.

I hope I don’t miss out on one opportunity to marvel, for if I close my eyes today, and focus on yesterday or tomorrow , I will surely miss out.

One thought on “I Would’ve Missed Out

Leave a Reply

